Movie Review : Spy (2015)

spy-posterTitle : Spy

Director : Paul Feig

Starring : Melissa McCarthy, Jason Statham, Rose Byrne, Jude Law

Release date : June 5th, 2015

Genre : Comedy

Synopsis (from RottenTomatoes) :

Rating : 94%

Susan Cooper (Melissa McCarthy) is an unassuming, deskbound CIA analyst, and the unsung hero behind the Agency’s most dangerous missions. But when her partner (Jude Law) falls off the grid and another top agent (Jason Statham) is compromised, she volunteers to go deep undercover to infiltrate the world of a deadly arms dealer, and prevent a global disaster.

Review :

This movie was HI.LA.RIOUS.

Okay, so, by NO MEANS am I a professional critic, I have never taken cinema classes or anything, so there won’t be any technical language or over-the-top comment about this movie. I’ll just tell you why I liked/didn’t like the movie.

So, SPY was hilarious, as was already stated. McCarthy delivers her usual comedic streak (you know the one I’m talking about? The intense, kinda auntie-ish way of speaking and acting?), but it seems like the whole movie was built around her persona, from the fake identities she must portray in order to be an agent to her very real, likable and down-to-earth, personality. Actually, I liked ALL the characters (except maybe her friend, who just sounded so annoying). Even the villains and the douchebags were likable! I don’t mean that they were actually nice or well-mannered, it’s just that they seem so overwhelmed by McCarthy’s character (Susan) that they go along with her, and you know they’re in for a journey! Byrne’s and Statham’s characters, if they weren’t well done, could actually be very annoying, but the exaggeration they put into their portrayal made them very funny.

The plot itself was very entertaining. There’s action, and jokes, and just enough absurdity to make it hilarious. You can compare it to a lighthearted James Bond, in which James Bond’s partners take the lead. The comic relief was on point, and it never missed its cue.

The only “bad thing” for me was… Well, at first, you must know that I don’t swear, ok? I made myself stop when I was in 9th grade, and since then, I haven’t cursed once. So, in a movie rated R for coarse language, it was kind of “too much” for me, but don’t get me wrong, it added a lot to the comedy of the movie. So yes, I did appreciate it, but I always felt a bit shy every time a “f*ck” was thrown out.

I don’t really know what else to add, like I said, I’m no expert. I could just go on with fangirling hahah, but that wouldn’t be very informative! Anyway, if you need a good laugh, that movie is FOR YOUu !

Leave a Reply

