Wednesday’s Headline : Lola and the Boy Next Door – Stephanie Perkins

Wednesday’s Headline is a series/feature on my blog where I will share with you my current read and my thoughts and expectations for them!

I’M SO SORRY!! I published this post without having completed it, and now I feel so bad! I hope you won’t be too disappointed in me.. ):

This Wednesday, I’m reading Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins! It’s the second book in the Anna and the French Kiss series, and it follows a completely other protagonist. Since my little sister insisted (forced) me to read it, I just had to 🙂

Summary (from Goodreads) :

Lola Nolan is a budding costume designer, and for her, the more outrageous, sparkly, and fun the outfit, the better. And everything is pretty perfect in her life (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood. When Cricket, a gifted inventor, steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

just started this book, so it’s the perfect time for expectations, right? So far, I really like it. Lola is so much different than Anna, and I like her very much. Original and teenage-cute, she’s a joy to read! Perkins still knows how to make a character relatable, despite different personalities! It’s all in the thoughts and quirks, people! And gay dads?? Hell YEAH!

Only problem is (and it’s a MAJOR one) : pedophilia. Hello???? I know it must have been a big deal for Perkins to write about this, but ugh, I just can’t accept that. It makes me cringe. It makes me uncomfortable. I want to puke whenever I read about that couple.

Needless to say, I hope Lola ends up with Cricket. I really do. Because, on the first mention of his name, I knew I’d love him. I grinned at the same time HE grinned. That’s how he got my heart! I hope Perkins dealt well with the bullying Lola suffered also, if I understood correctly? Actually, there are a lot of delicate subjects in this novel (homosexuality, pedophilia, bullying, acceptance, redemption,…), so I hope Perkins did a good job. That’s my most serious expectation about this book.

Stay tuned for my review of this novel! Thanks for reading this!

Have you guys read Lola? What did you think of it? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

