Book Review : Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

16101168Title : Lola and the Boy Next Door

Author : Stephanie Perkins

Publisher : Dutton Books

Release date : September 29th, 2011

Rating : 4.5/5

Synopsis (from Goodreads) :

Lola Nolan is a budding costume designer, and for her, the more outrageous, sparkly, and fun the outfit, the better. And everything is pretty perfect in her life (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood. When Cricket, a gifted inventor, steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

Review :

Lola was much better than Anna, I must say. The characters were adorable and it’s the kind of teenage-romance that I’ve always loved.

My guilty pleasure in romance is the typical “impossible” love between two people. They try to be together, but there are always “damn, did I screw this up?” moments, and I LIVE for those moments. I know that, after all these near-catastrophic events, their love for each other would be confirmed and solidified and they’ll live happily ever after :3 And that’s what I got from Lola.

Stephanie Perkins strikes with her teenage-relatable protagonist, perfectly writing down feelings and thoughts and reactions. Her characters fall in love the way readers would want to. It’s sweet, and a little awkward, and heart-wrenchingly innocent and passionate. The love story between Lola and Cricket is dreamlike. Also, I appreciate very much that Perkins took the time to explain the dynamic between 2 dads; we don’t see it often enough. Actually, Perkins is not afraid to tackle delicate subjects, like homosexuality.

My biggest turn off, however, is another delicate subject: pedophilia. The author knew it would create controversy, and it did. I know it happens a lot in our society, but in a story I hoped to completely enjoy, it was weird and immoral; I could NOT read it and keep my neutrality. Like the Shadowhunters say, the law is hard but it’s the law. A grown man going after a 15-year-old is in the wrong. In my opinion, Max was a bad boyfriend. He endured Lola’s parents and saw them as obstacles, treated Lindsey (Lola’s friend) like crap and practically treats Lola herself like a trophy girlfriend. I’m glad how their story turned out.

Lola is a really cute character. She’s quirky, has dark family history, is eccentric and sometimes reckless. But Cricket was really the spotlight of this story. Oh, Cricket. I feel so weak. Literally the first time his name is mentioned, my heart started beating faster, and I knew I was a sucker for Cricket.

All in all, I’d recommend Lola for contemporary YA romance fans!

Picture sources : 1, 2

8 thoughts on “Book Review : Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

  1. Hilary @ SongsWroteMyStory says:

    Great review! 🙂
    I hadn’t actually thought of the relationship between Max and Lola pedophilic. Maybe just because where I grew up, the dating pool was limited, so dating a few years in either direction was fairly normal, even in high school. It’s an interesting perspective, and has made me curious to read that book again.

    Like

  2. Katie says:

    I agree with you on the Lola-Max relationship. Even if I wouldn’t call it pedophilic, it still kind of rubbed me the wrong way.
    I absolutely loved this book though. I should actually reread it soon since it’s been so long! Great review!Do you think you’ll pick up the 3rd book, Isla and the Happily Ever After?

    Like

    • Chelsea (warlocksgraybook) says:

      Hi! Thank you so much! I’m only calling it pedophilic law-wise, you know? But yes, the main problem wasn’t their age, exactly. And yes! I’ll read Isla, since I loved Lola very much (despite Max…). I have the whole trilogy at home, so I’ll be sure to read Isla someday!! :)) Thanks again!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

