Wednesday’s Headline : Steena Holmes & Sarah J. Maas

Wednesday’s Headline is a series/feature on my blog where I will share with you my current read and my thoughts and expectations for them!

Hello, guys! This Wednesday, I am reading 2 books again! Go check them out!

[All summaries+pictures are from Goodreads]

  1. Saving Abby by Steena Holmes

27407556

Summary:

All children’s book illustrator Claire Turner ever wanted was to be a mother. After six years of trying to conceive, she and her husband, Josh, have finally accepted that she will never be pregnant with a child of their own.

Yet once they give up hope, the couple gets the miracle they’ve been waiting for. For the first few months of her pregnancy, Claire and Josh are living on cloud nine. But when she begins to experience debilitating headaches, blurred vision, and even fainting spells, the soon-to-be mother goes to the doctor and receives a terrifying diagnosis. Since any treatment could put their unborn baby’s life at risk, the Turners must carefully weigh their limited options. And as her symptoms worsen, Claire will have to make an impossible decision: Save her own life, or save her child’s?

I just started this book, so my expectations are pretty simple: Please let them BOTH live and have a happy ending, please!!!! I want to be teary-eyed while reading this book, and gain a new perspective on life. I hope reading this kind of fiction will teach me something.

I’m reading this book as a part of a blog tour. Stay tuned! 🙂

2. Of Pens and Swords by Rena Rocford

26846589

Summary:

Seventeen-year-old Cyra Berque wants two things in life: a date with Rochan and a chance to fence at the Olympics. But people with one hand don’t normally fence, and girls with big thighs don’t get the boy. Knowing that she wants to make the Olympics, Cyra’s coach sets her up with another coach, one who could take her all the way to the top, but the new coach costs more. Feeling her dreams slipping out of reach, Cyra agrees to tutor a ballerina with a rich father and a D minus in English. It’s triple the pay and triple the pain. The ballerina isn’t interested in passing classes―she wants Rochan, and she’s promised she’ll turn her D minus into a full-fledged F if Cyra doesn’t help her win the heart of Rochan.

I’m just a teeny tiny bit disappointed by the Goodreads rating on this one… so my expectations aren’t high. I just want the romance to be cute, I guess? The plot does seem nice, and I’m hoping it surprises me!

Thank you for reading this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

