Casting Call: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Have you ever read a book, and wondered how it would be like to see it on the screen? I have.

I have asked myself several times, about several books, how they could be made as movies. I wondered about the setting, the filming locations, the acting, the script, the costumes, the director. Mostly, though, I have wondered if the actors who would be cast, would resemble how I already imagine my characters to look like.

When a book is really good and worthy of a visual representation, I anguish about how a powerful individual, such as a casting director, would imagine the characters. Yes, acting skills must be taken into consideration, but let’s just focus on looks here, alright?

I have been disappointed in the past (glares at Jamie Campbell Bower). I have been indifferent, also (glances at Liam Hemsworth). I have been pleased as well (looks at Ansel Elgort). In light of my questions, I thought it would be fun to have a turn at casting. Unfortunately, I didn’t find anyone who perfectly matched my imagination, since I had to look through people I already knew. Please note that this is fancast; nothing official here. Have fun reading 🙂

The book that will have the first honor will be A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas, as I just finished and loved it. For my full review, see here.

[All descriptions from here]

Alycia Debnam-Carey as Feyre

tumblr_nu8kuuuVk71rvl0tso1_500.png

Feyre is tall and slender, with pale skin and golden-brown hair and slightly up-tilted blue-grey eyes. After her time in the Spring Court, her skin had tanned and freckled a bit. She has a pert and pretty nose, sharp cheekbones and a soft mouth. She is supposedly quite beautiful.

Christopher Brown (Christopher Mason) as Tamlin

3c72ce212dfb0c3ecbf448814758eaab

In his human form, he is tall with blond hair and green eyes. Also, strikingly handsome, though for the better half of the first book his face is covered by a mask. He has a warrior’s body that’s been honed to perfection over hundreds of years.

Max Irons as Lucien

mirons2_tat_22mar12_rex.jpg

Imagine him with ginger hair

Throughout the book, Lucien is seen wearing a copper fox mask. He has one russet eye, while the other is made of metal of a gold colour. His face is brutally scarred from his brow to his jaw (it is later revealed that this, along with his metal eye, was caused by Amarantha). His hair is red, and his skin is pale; his voice is described to be smug, his laugh barking.

Without his mask, his features are described by Feyre as sharp, elegant, and ethereally handsome despite the length of scars on his face.

Sean O’Pry as Rhysand

large.jpg

Rhysand is described to have short black hair, like a raven’s feathers, that offset his pale skin. However, during the second installment, Rhys is described as having tan skin with magnificient art that decorated his chest and knees. He has blue eyes, described as so deep that they were violet with flecks of silver like starlight. He appears to radiate sensual grace and ease. […] His beauty and handsomeness are said to be legendary, greater so far than anyone else’s in Prythian. According to Feyre, his face is “perfect” and he has a “powerful body”

Jane Levy as Amarantha

8.-Jane-Levy-Suburgatory

Feyre noted that Amarantha’s appearance didn’t radiate darkness and bitterness but someone who had a charming allure. She had neatly braided red-gold hair, which wove elegantly through her golden crown. Her skin was white, which both complemented her ruby lips and her crown. Her elegance is shown to have an atmosphere of being contrived and cold.

What do you think of my fancast? Do you have other suggestions? Please, let me know! I know two of them are mainly models, but acting can be taught, right? This was so fun to write; thanks for reading!

5 thoughts on “Casting Call: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Leave a Reply

