Book Review: The Flame by Mark A. Evans

26101782.jpgTitle : The Flame

Author : Mark A. Evans

Publisher : create space

Release date : May 21st, 2015

Rating : 2.5/5

Synopsis (from Goodreads) :

We follow the adventures of Julie, a high school freshman living in a small midcoast Maine town. At a time of loss, Julie discovers that she has a very rare ability which will alter the future for her and her brother Ed. They have so much to learn and no one to help them. A boarding camp in the middle of the Maine woods and strangers from distant countries await them. A mystery is afoot, and they are the only ones who can solve it.

Review :

I would like to thank the author for providing me with a copy of this book, but it doesn’t affect my opinion.

Are you ready for a revelation? I judge books by their cover *gasps*. Not always, but often. It’s like how you savor food as much with your eyes as with your mouth, you know? Pretty covers attract the eye, and they enrich your bookshelf’s looks. The Flame’s cover didn’t appeal to my eyes. It looks too basic, it needs better editing, and personally, I don’t like when covers feature real-life people, unless it’s exceptionally beautiful, like The Selection’s cover. But despite the first impression, I decided I’d give this book a chance, because I was happy to help Mark Evans!

I don’t regret reading this book, but it wasn’t as good as I expected. My biggest turn off, and it was a big one, was the writing style. The prose felt like a biography, or a documentary. It states facts, instead of transporting us on its words. Really good books are able to lift me off my feet, but for this one, I stayed flat on the ground. The writing also didn’t offer much mystery, despite the fact that the summary suggested there would be some. It lacked depth, but it’s not an insurmountable issue. The plot sometimes seemed to go too fast, and then sometimes too slow. It wasn’t very constant. Actually, the pattern of “I did this, … I want that, … I _____, … I _____, …” made it all too clear that this is Evans’ first novel. For a debut writer, though, it could have been worse, so I’m sure he’ll get better.

The writing in itself doesn’t deliver a mysterious atmosphere, but the events kept me on the edge of my seat! You never know what will be the characters’ next move. The book also deals with society’s issues, hard ones, but it deals O.K. with them. I would have liked to see more of it, so I was left unsatisfied by the end of the novel.

A good point to Evans’ work is the characters. The reading was a bit more enjoyable because the characters themselves were a joy to read. They are very relatable, like people you could meet in everyday life. What the book lacks in writing, it makes up for it in the characters. They are well developed, despite the Evans’ trouble with writing dialogues involving young people. It seemed like he was trying too hard to sound like a teenager, that it comes off as awkward. Anyway, Evans has a nice touch with characters, and once his writing improves, I’m sure his books will be amazing!

All in all, there is good content, but the container made it hard for me to fully appreciate the book. I know people usually say content is more important than container, but I’ll leave this quote for dissertations and school’s stuff.

Picture sources : 1, 2

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Flame by Mark A. Evans

  1. Mark Evans says:

    I want to thank the Warlocks Greybook for reviewing my book. I understand how hard it is to post a less than stellar review for an author. I did not wow my reviewer here, but one cannot hope to please everyone. I still hope that other readers may enjoy my work, as some of the feedback I receive from readers is quite good. Thank you again Greybook, for taking the time to read my book and give your honest opinion. Mark Evans

    Like

Leave a Reply

