Wednesday’s Headline: Genevieve Cogman & Leigh Hutton

Wednesday’s Headline is a series/feature on my blog where I will share with you my current read and my thoughts and expectations for them!

(Yep, I know. A few minutes late, I’m sorry.)

This Wednesday, I’m reading The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman and Race Girl by Leigh Hutton! Two books, again, because *sigh* my deadlines are lurking in the shadows of Next Week. Anyway, meet my current reads:

[Pictures+summaries from Goodreads]

  1. The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman

21416690.jpg

Summary:

Irene is a professional spy for the mysterious Library, which harvests fiction from different realities. And along with her enigmatic assistant Kai, she’s posted to an alternative London. Their mission – to retrieve a dangerous book. But when they arrive, it’s already been stolen. London’s underground factions seem prepared to fight to the very death to find her book.

Adding to the jeopardy, this world is chaos-infested – the laws of nature bent to allow supernatural creatures and unpredictable magic. Irene’s new assistant is also hiding secrets of his own.

Soon, she’s up to her eyebrows in a heady mix of danger, clues and secret societies. Yet failure is not an option – the nature of reality itself is at stake.

Such.A.Beautiful.Cover! The cover AND the title had me at hello, and the summary had me at how are you. I am so in love with this book; my heart fills with pride whenever I take it out! However, my first disappointment came not a page in: the writing style. When I read the summary, I expected a classic, elegant and polished writing. Not a YA cliché of a narrator. It is, after all, fantasy before YA. And seriously? From the premise, I would have expected the author to handle the novel with care. But nah. But, I am hoping for mind-blowing worlds, and relatable (bookworms, people!) characters!

2. Race Girl by Leigh Hutton

29539144

Summary:

Tully Athens has always dreamed of following in the footsteps of her hero Michelle Payne. Of living up to the Athens name and becoming the third generation of women from her family to rule the track. But Tully’s never been sure she’s got the nerve, and when her mother is killed in a horse racing accident, her whole world is shattered.

Six months later, in the heat of a Queensland summer, sixteen-year-old Tully is ready to face her fears. But getting back in the saddle leads to a whole lot more than she bargained for, with an out of control crush on the boy from their rival thoroughbred farm – the gorgeous but cocky larrikin Brandon Weston – and a forgotten filly with stardom in her eyes . . .

When faced with the most difficult decision of her life, will Tully choose to train and race her new filly in Melbourne? Or will she sacrifice it all to fight for love on the land that feeds her soul?

It’s only when tragedy rips everything from her that Tully finds a strength and courage she never knew she had, in this action-packed novel of passion, adventure and determination.

My love for horses is the sole reason I accepted to read this book, hahahah! So of course, my only expectation: to learn more about those exquisite creatures and about horseback riding! I hope Hutton won’t disappoint me there…

Thanks for reading this!

Leave a Reply

