Wednesday’s Headline: Rachel Caine & Ellery A. Kane

Wednesday’s Headline is a series/feature on my blog where I will share with you my current read and my thoughts and expectations for them!

This Wednesday, I’m alternating again between a print book and an eBook. Respectively, I’m reading Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine, and Legacy by Ellery A. Kane!

I’m actually reading Ink and Bone in order to cover the release of Paper and Fire, the second installment in The Great Library series, which will be published on the 5th of July, 2016. So be sure to check out this series!

[Pictures+summaries from Goodreads]

  1. Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine

20643052

Summary:

Ruthless and supremely powerful, the Great Library is now a presence in every major city, governing the flow of knowledge to the masses. Alchemy allows the Library to deliver the content of the greatest works of history instantly—but the personal ownership of books is expressly forbidden.

Jess Brightwell believes in the value of the Library, but the majority of his knowledge comes from illegal books obtained by his family, who are involved in the thriving black market. Jess has been sent to be his family’s spy, but his loyalties are tested in the final months of his training to enter the Library’s service.

When his friend inadvertently commits heresy by creating a device that could change the world, Jess discovers that those who control the Great Library believe that knowledge is more valuable than any human life—and soon both heretics and books will burn…

So, I just read The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman (review here), that also features a powerful and mystic Library. It was good, no more, no less. So, since Ink and Bone is YA, my expectations are lower, which would mean that it would be easier for me to like it! I’m hoping for a mystic atmosphere surrounding the Library, mysterious characters and lots of references to other literary works!

2. Legacy by Ellery A. Kane

23222016

Summary:

How do you want to feel today?

In 2041, the choice is yours.

San Francisco is deserted, the Bay Bridge bombed, and the BART subway trains grounded. The Guardians, members of an elite and mysterious government-appointed military police force, are maintaining order at all costs—thanks to emotion-altering drugs like Emovere that suppress fear and anxiety. Lex Knightley, daughter of a prominent forensic psychiatrist, risks entering the devastated city to partner with the Resistance, a group of rebels intent upon exposing the dangers of Emovere. Lex discovers an ally in Quin McAllister, a magnetic Guardian Force recruit with a haunting past that binds them together. As she uncovers the secrets of the Guardian Force and confronts the truth about her family, Lex begins to realize that even those closest to her are not quite who they seem.

Legacy is the first in a trilogy but can also be enjoyed as a stand-alone.

Dannng, this one gives me intense Matched and Delirium memories. I think it’s because of the emotions thingy. I’m obviously hoping it won’t fall in the same boring, monotonous dystopia. But it probably will. So, let’s hope for amazing characters and mind-blowing prose.

I really REALLY like the concept of “choosing” how to feel. I’m sure I’m not the only one who thought it would be nicer to choose our feelings, eh? It must be pretty awesome, but at the same time, inhumane. Um…

Thanks for reading!

5 thoughts on “Wednesday’s Headline: Rachel Caine & Ellery A. Kane

  1. Anne says:

    I already finished Ink and Bone last week and am now 30% into Paper and Fire, hoping I can cover the release as well (and write a review on Ink and Bone before that). It’s been very different from what I expected, but I think I’m ending up with giving I&B 5 stars O_o. What are your thoughts on it so far? 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

