Book Review: The V Girl by Mya Robarts

21799202.jpgTitle : The V Girl

Author : Mya Robarts

Release date : July 1st, 2014

Rating : 4.7/5

Synopsis (from Goodreads) :

In post-apocalyptic North America, rape and sexual slavery are legal. Lila Velez, desperately wants to lose her virginity before the troops visit her town and can take it away by force. She makes plans to seduce her only friend, Rey, the most attractive man in her town. Lila does not love him but he is the only man who has shown her true affection, an affection she is willing to take as a substitute of love.

Lila’s coping mechanism to her mother’s rape and kidnapping is her secret. A secret that will bring her closer to Aleksey, a foreign, broody man. Lila does not trust him because his links to the troops and his rough, yet irresistible appearance. Aleksey offers Lila an alternative to her plans, a possibility that terrifies her…and tempts her in spite of herself.

All the while Lila will have to find a way to live in the constant company of death, slavery, starvation, sexual abuse and the danger of losing the people she loves the most.

Review :

Woah woah woah, hold up, now. That was a freaking incredible book!!!

I have to start off by saying that this book is NOT for the faint of heart. So if you are, RUN AWAY FROM IT. Seriously, have you read the description?! Yeah, a book that talks about rape, abuse and slavery is certainly not for the sensitive. It’s brutal, and horrifying.

Now, for those of you who stayed: what a ride! The V Girl blew my mind away! Robarts wrote in a careful, mature and poetic way in order to handle such horrible subjects. She brought together some aspects that we can, unfortunately, find in our society. If you think about it, rape culture exists, and is present wherever you go. However, this book isn’t wholly about making people aware of this very real issue. It’s about Lila’s struggle to survive in her own way in her screwed up world, who had already screwed up her own family. The story is sprinkled with so many amazing details and new ideas and concepts that this fictional world felt real. I’m not saying that Lila’s world is awesome. Oh hell no, it’s atrocious! But Robarts’ imagination was, and I immensely enjoyed reading about it. Wow, how I would love to read more about it!

What I also really liked was the pace of the book. It was great, and gave me the time to get to know the characters, and their world, and the way this society works. I had a clear idea of where everyone stood before we jumped to the actual, interesting plot.

The V Girl might fall into the “coming of age” category, because its main character goes through a phase where she changes and evolves. And she did! At first, I didn’t like her, because she was fickle and naïve and constantly scared. She didn’t seem like the kind of person I’d like to read about. I mean, I know her growing up had been hard, and her situation explained why she acted this way…but still. I was irrationally pissed off by her. But then, after everything Lila went through, she became an incredibly brave young woman. She fought nails and teeth to overcome the obstacles she encountered, and she truly amazed me. I particularly admired her respect for herself, her values and her body, and the perseverance and strong-will she developed over time. And what can I say about Aleksey? He’s so HOT. Not particularly my type, but boyyyy, I fell head over heels for him anyway. He’s an artist, and mysterious, and my ovaries exploded many times at his scenes.

After finishing the book, I came to the conclusion that I could have used a sequel to The V Girl, because the writing was incredibly and the characters, fantastic. Unfortunately, I’ll have to rely on only the one.

Picture sources : 1

XpressoBannerToursEmail1

7 thoughts on “Book Review: The V Girl by Mya Robarts

Leave a Reply

