Book Review: Lost Souls by Katie Jaros

27213336Title: Lost Souls

Author : Katie Jaros

Publisher : Bonne Chance Books

Release date : October 12th, 2015

Rating : 3.5/5

☯ Synopsis (from Goodreads) :

As a hard partying senior at Sacred Heart High School, Christa Nichols was used to people telling her she was bad at making choices. But when a car accident awakens her to the secret world of Angels and Demons, she realizes for the first time the weight her decisions truly have.

Now caught in the middle of a life-long rivalry between a classic-rock loving Guardian Angel and a Demonic club promoter, Christa won’t just need to use her wits to survive… she’ll need them to save her mother’s soul.

Lost Souls takes you on a journey through a world where Guardian Angels masquerade as the homeless and business-savvy Demons trade souls like they’re on the NYSE.
Full of romance, horror, and food trucks; Lost Souls is fun at its most Divine.

⚜ Review :

Lost Souls was definitely an entertaining read, although not an unforgettable one.

I haven’t read a lot of Angels vs Demons novels in my life… I don’t know why; maybe because it’s too religious a subject for me, or because I assume it’ll be a typical Good vs Bad story. I really don’t know. And truthfully, Lost Souls isn’t the book that will make me change my mind. But the world Jaros created, which includes angels and demons, was indeed very cool, and exciting! The world building was the best part of her novel! Sure, there was the “typical Good vs Bad story”, but somehow, Jaros made me like it. It was a new-ish take on the subject, also, which helped.

The characters could have been more complex, or more unpredictable, but unfortunately, I’ve read all about their kinds already, and I knew exactly what to expect from them. It doesn’t mean I didn’t like Daniel, though (hihi). The love triangle, again, was a cliché tool. But the suspense and mystery did keep me on the edge of my seat, with just enough action to balance the character problem.

Okay, I know I don’t have much to say about Lost Souls, and I’m really sorry about it. I would have expected to have much more to say, but… it just didn’t click for me. It was entertaining, sure, but I’ve had the same kind of entertainment many times before already. But you guys could go check it out, if you want! I suppose there’s a reason it has a 4.17/5 rating on Goodreads!

Leave a Reply

