2016+2017 on TV: What I’m watching (and what you should watch)

Hey, guys!! Wow, it’s been a while! Please forgive me, I have no excuses for my WordPress negligence. It was just life taking over, you know? School, exams, maintaining my social life, discovering foodie gems in my city and, most importantly, the shows I started watching on TV/Netflix/computer.

Something you should know about me: I looove watching movies and series. Maybe just as much as reading! I love being transported into another world, or another life. Somewhere where my troubles don’t matter, where I’m not stuck in my situation. And while movies and books have their advantages, TV series have theirs also, and since they’re a bigger commitment, I like to choose carefully what I watch. I check the synopsis, the reviews, how many episodes have already been out, the hype surrounding it. So, here are my findings, starting by the bad!

The mistakes

  • The OA

Synopsis

Seven years after vanishing from her home, a young woman returns with mysterious new abilities and recruits five strangers for a secret mission.

I have never been more confused by a show in my entire life. The first few episodes brought up more questions than answers, the most prominent one being “What the hell is going on?“. Then, just when I thought I got the answers I needed, it all came crashing back down and I was left, once again, drowning in my confusion. Brit Marling’s acting was great, but her character was kind of annoying at some point. I definitely wouldn’t watch the 2nd season (if there’s one); I’d just read it fast on Wiki.

  • Penny Dreadful

Synopsis

Explorer Sir Malcolm Murray, American gunslinger Ethan Chandler, scientist Victor Frankenstein and medium Vanessa Ives unite to combat supernatural threats in Victorian London.

Ok so I’ll admit it : I only watched a few episodes of the first season. But it was enough to turn me off. I know it had good reviews, and a good cast, and great costumes, but I just think I wasn’t in the right mindset to watch it; it was too dark, too mystery/toned-down/depressing, for me to have liked it or tolerated it. I could very well start again some day, so all is not lost!

  • American Horror Story: Freak Show

Synopsis

A troupe of human curiosities has just arrived in town, coinciding with the strange emergence of a dark entity that savagely threatens the lives of townsfolk and freaks alike. This is the story of the performers and their desperate journey of survival amidst the dying world of the American carny experience.

I’ve really liked AHS so far, but despite the freakiness, the occasional scares and the morbid aspect that I would expect from every season, Freak Show just didn’t cut it. I didn’t particularly like the characters, the setting lacked charm (I don’t mean I want big castles or posh neighbourhoods; they just could’ve done better with the camera work and the lighting) and even my favorite recurrent actors suffered from the poor writing. –> Going straight to Hotel.

The gems

  • Sense8

Synopsis

Eight twentysomethings around the world discover they have an intimate connection to one another with emotional, mental and physical implications.

Can I get a HELL YEAH FOR DIVERSITY (races, genders & sexual orientations)?? This show completely blew my mind because they actually cast and filmed accordingly to the ethnicity of the characters. It might seem weird to hear all of them speak English, though, but that’s just so that we can understand without always reading subtitles. When they talk to each other, they actually speak their own language. The plot is suspenseful and colourful, and the characters are awesome, the locations are wow. There are sexual scenes, though, so don’t watch it with your parents. πŸ™‚

  • A Series of Unfortunate Events

Synopsis

Lemony Snicket tells the story of the three Baudelaire orphans, who face countless obstacles and an evil uncle Count Olaf (Neil Patrick Harris) in their search for the truth behind their parents’ deaths.

I read all the books in this series first, then I watched the movie, was disappointed, but my hope was rekindled when I sat down to spend some time on this TV show. It’s a bit too childish, in my opinion, but I’ll stick to it because of the cinematography, the effects, the characters and the plot!

  • Riverdale

Synopsis

A subversive take on Archie and his friends, exploring small town life, the darkness and weirdness bubbling beneath Riverdale’s wholesome facade.

CHILDHOOD FEELS! Riverdale is the Archie comics for young adults (nop, I don’t mean teenagers, I mean young ADULTS). It’s darker, sexier and a lot more dramatic. I hope you know why I like this, hehe!

  • The Musketeers

Synopsis

Set on the streets of 17th century Paris, series gives a contemporary take on the classic story about a group of highly trained soldiers and bodyguards assigned to protect King and country.

Of course, we all know the story. The show itself is funny, charming, action-packed, has beautiful scenery, and it adds its own touch to the story! Oh and, Doctor Who is in it.

  • Westworld

Synopsis

A Western-themed futuristic theme park, populated with artificial intelligence, allows high-paying guests to live out their fantasies with no consequences or retaliation from the android hosts, until now.

If you’re into TV, I think you’ve heard of this one already. This show is absolutely brilliant! The acting is wow, the cinematography is beautiful, the directing is breathtaking. I particularly like the plot, and the eerie feeling I get everytime we see more of the androids. Definite must watch!

  • Stranger Things

Synopsis

When a young boy disappears, his mother, a police chief, and his friends must confront terrifying forces in order to get him back.

This one also, you’ve heard of, right? Needless to say, the cast is adorable! I could compare this show a little to Supernatural, because of the suspense and the supernatural aspect of it, but the old-ish feeling is completely its own!

The doubts

  • Bates Motel

Synopsis

A contemporary prequel to Psycho, giving a portrayal of how Norman Bates’ psyche unravels through his teenage years, and how deeply intricate his relationship with his mother, Norma, truly is.

Studying in psychology and having liked Psycho, I know I should love this one, but… I don’t. I should’ve expected it, though : I don’t have any sympathy for Norman. I like some aspects of the show, sometimes I’m entertained, but there are other times when I’m just so frustrated! One question: could they stop feeling sorry for themselves and just make a move to fix their problems?

  • Shadowhunters

Synopsis

After her mother is kidnapped, Clary must venture into the dark world of demon hunting.

This one I’m staying solely because I’m loyal to the books. And Simon. And Magnus. For real, though, the acting is generally atrocious, the special effects make me weep, the storyline doesn’t always make sense (because it diverges from the books). But the worst? CLARY FREAKING FAIRCHILD. GO TO HELL.

2 thoughts on “2016+2017 on TV: What I’m watching (and what you should watch)

Leave a Reply

