Movie Review: Beauty and the Beast (2017)

onesheet.jpgTitle : Beauty and the Beast

Director : Bill Condon

Starring : Emma Watson, Dan Stevens, Luke Evans, Josh Gad

Release date : March 17th, 2017

Genre : Drama, Musical & Performing Arts, Romance, Fantasy

Synopsis (from RottenTomatoes) :

Rating : 70%

“Beauty and the Beast” is the fantastic journey of Belle, a bright, beautiful and independent young woman who is taken prisoner by a beast in his castle. Despite her fears, she befriends the castle’s enchanted staff and learns to look beyond the Beast’s hideous exterior and realize the kind heart and soul of the true Prince within.

☀ Review :

** By NO MEANS am I a professional critic, I have never taken cinema classes or anything, so there won’t be any technical language or over-the-top comment about this movie. I’ll just tell you why I liked/didn’t like it.

Be our guest, be our guest, put our service to the test!

Beauty and the Beast (BatB) is my favorite animated Disney movie, and that makes me completely biased towards the live-action one <– warning.

Oh, how nostalgic and enchanted I felt when the Prologue song came on! I was hooked from the beginning, and not only because of the song, but also because of the decor and the setting! The castle was more impressive and grand than in the animated version, the village was just as cozy, and the landscape/forest gave me shivers. Disney really nailed the setting/CGI (?) for this one, because it was so beautiful, so magical. I just wanted to fall into that world!

The plot was mainly the same (read synopsis above), so there was no real surprise there. I won’t tell you about the plot changes they made, though, because I don’t want to reveal any spoilers, but they’re darker than the animated counterpart. My opinion didn’t change much because of those tweaks.

I read some of the criticisms made about the Stockholm Syndrome. What IS Stockholm Syndrome? In short, “Stockholm syndrome is a condition that causes hostages to develop a psychological alliance with their captors as a survival strategy during captivity.” But, in Emma Watson’s words :

[Belle] has none of the characteristics of someone with Stockholm Syndrome because she keeps her independence, she keeps that freedom of thought.

Belle doesn’t have the Stockholm Syndrome because she always tries (and succeeds) to escape, so she doesn’t need any survival strategy during captivity. She chooses to come back on her own, because she’s grateful to Beast. And that is it.

However, the only downside I had with the movie was that I wasn’t as awed as with Cinderella (2015). In Cinderella, we had the beautiful dress made of magic, the too-beautiful-for-his-own-good Prince, the vibrant colours. Everything was enchanting to the eyes and to the heart. So I was a little disappointed to see that BatB didn’t have this extra-ness.

But I loved and admired the changes they did for Belle. She’s now the inventor of the family, not Maurice. It completes and actually explains why Belle is such an oddity (because just being able to read was a little thin as an explanation, for me). And they had lines that actually made sense and were funny! The musical parts weren’t too cliché, they added new songs as well and one of those became my favorite! *sigh*

All in all, I was more than satisfied with BatB. It was out of this world, and I’d watch it again and again!! Totally recommended!

 

Leave a Reply

