Wednesday’s Headline: Laini Taylor & Kerstin Gier

Wednesday’s Headline is a series/feature on my blog where I will share with you my current read and my thoughts and expectations for them!

This Wednesday, I’m reading two books : Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor and Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier. I’m particularly excited about this duo because they sound so amazing!!

Laini Taylor is the acclaimed author of Daughter of Smoke and Bone series! Stranger the Dreamer will be published on March 28th, 2017.

[Pictures+summaries from Goodreads]

  1. Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

28449207.jpg

Summary:

The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way aroundand Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he’s been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance to lose his dream forever.

What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving?

The answers await in Weep, but so do more mysteries—including the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo’s dreams. How did he dream her before he knew she existed? and if all the gods are dead, why does she seem so real?

OUhhhhhh I’m SO HYPED FOR THIS!!!! So mysterious and mythical and IT SMELLS OF MAGIC AND ENCHANTMENTS!!! And I’m a few pages in and the writing is totally awesome, so I think I found one of my favorite reads of 2017!

2. Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

8835379.jpg

Summary:

Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era!

Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon–the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.

My friend recommended this one to me, and I’m totally hooked by the summary! I love time travel stuff and I’m pretty sure I’ll love the ship in there 😉 A kind of Time Traveller’s Wife, people? A few pages in also, and I think it borders on too childish, but not yet, you know? We’ll have to see where she goes with that.

Thank you for reading my Wednesday’s Headline!

Leave a Reply

