Wednesday’s Headline: Sean Danker & Sylvain Neuvel

Wednesday’s Headline is a series/feature on my blog where I will share with you my current read and my thoughts and expectations for them!

Hello, everyone! This Wednesday, I’m reading 2 books : Free Space (Evagardian #2) by Sean Danker and Waking Gods (Themis Files #2) by Sylvain Neuvel.

This time, I’m going back to my old habit of alternating between an eBook and a physical book, because why not 🙂 Also, as you may have noticed, these are two sequels, that I received as ARCs (and read a bit late, I’m sorry about that). The first book of each series is pretty good, so you should definitely check them out! 😀

[Pictures+summaries from Goodreads]

  1. Free Space (Evagardian #2) by Sean Danker

31579983

Summary:

“I’d impersonated a prince, temporarily stopped a war, escaped a deadly planet, and survived more assassination attempts than I could conveniently count. After all that, there shouldn’t have been anything simpler than a nice weekend with a charming Evagardian girl.

However, some corners of the galaxy aren’t as genteel as the Empire, and Evagardians aren’t universally loved, which is how I ended up kidnapped to be traded as a commodity.

Their timing couldn’t have been worse. I’m not at my best, but these people have no idea whom they’re dealing with: a highly trained, genetically engineered soldier in the Imperial Service who happens to be my date.”

Come onnnnn. If the summary is that funny, I can only assume the book will be as well! I expect to find the same sense of humour I enjoyed in the first one, and I’m all the more excited for it! I mean, we all expected this “highly trained soldier” would be the protagonist, right? Nope! It’s safe to say that I’m in for a ride!

     2.   Waking Gods (Themis Files #2) by Sylvain Neuvel

30134847

Summary:

As a child, Rose Franklin made an astonishing discovery: a giant metallic hand, buried deep within the earth. As an adult, she’s dedicated her brilliant scientific career to solving the mystery that began that fateful day: Why was a titanic robot of unknown origin buried in pieces around the world? Years of investigation have produced intriguing answers—and even more perplexing questions. But the truth is closer than ever before when a second robot, more massive than the first, materializes and lashes out with deadly force.

Now humankind faces a nightmare invasion scenario made real, as more colossal machines touch down across the globe. But Rose and her team at the Earth Defense Corps refuse to surrender. They can turn the tide if they can unlock the last secrets of an advanced alien technology. The greatest weapon humanity wields is knowledge in a do-or-die battle to inherit the Earth . . . and maybe even the stars.

Sleeping Giants was the first book of its kind that I’ve read, in the form of interviews and journal entries, and I was thoroughly impressed. I’m glad to say I encountered the same kind of vibe I got from the first one, and the story starts with a bang! Really looking forward to the outcome!

Leave a Reply

